The Fine Arts Roundtable (FAR) from California State University, Long Beach begins this academic year by presenting the Greater Los Angeles Master of Fine Art Exhibition (GLAMFA). It is one of the largest student-conceived and organized art events in both the CSULB Department of Art and in Southern California history. Now in its sixth year, GLAMFA is devoted to generating and maintaining an active dialogue among emerging artists in MFA programs across Southern California. Over 70 artists will be represented at the GLAMFA / Open Studios event. GLAMFA is the preeminent regional MFA exhibition for the Southern California area. The show aims to generate and maintain an active dialogue between an emerging generation of LA artists and its public.

GLAMFA 2010, displayed more than 40 works in a variety of mediums, will occupy five CSULB art department galleries and several alternative spaces throughout the art department. This year’s program represents 10 schools: California Institute of the Arts, Claremont Graduate University, CSU Fullerton, CSU Northridge, Otis College of Art and Design, UC Irvine, UC Los Angeles, UC Riverside, UC San Diego, and UC Santa Barbara.

FAR will bring together MFAs from several schools across Southern California and students (and alumni) from CSULB in a round table discussion. Moderated by GLAMFA coordinators, the panelists will be asked to explore a range of issues, beginning with their individual practices and moving into collective topics, including parallel concepts and themes in the show. These include identity politics, social histories, the influence of the MFA institution, the place of materiality in art making, and what it means to be an emerging artist in Southern California.

Participating Artists:

Nicholas Aguayo
Nathan Bockelman
Erich Bollmann
Michael Calway-Fagen
Crystal Z Campbell
Patricia Fernandez Carcedo
Alida Cervantes
kyle chew
Josh Cho
Cameron Crone
Monica Duncan
Libby Gerber
David Gilbert
Valerie Green
Maya Gurantz
Greg J. Hayes
Ross Karre
Vincent Manganello
Dolissa Medina
Noritaka Minami
Meleko Mokgosi
Alex C. Moore
Lara Odell
Sage Paisner
Jane Parshall
Andrew Printer
Kevin Scianni
Ash Eliza Smith
K.K. Spector
Cammie Staros
Azadeh Tajpour
Taylor Tschider
Arnoldo Vargas
Nathan Lam Vuong
CSULB 49er: View article Here!